Last-minute Premiere Prep

Posted on

T-minus 4 hours and counting until the premiere of TURN on AMC!  (Alas, my little countdown widget in the sidebar appears to have crashed.)

AMC is soliciting shots of people’s “Premiere parties” on social media, using the hashtags #turn, #turnAMC, #AMCturn, and #PledgeDefiance, so I thought I’d hop on the bandwagon with the following pic:

premierebookpic2

Real-time shot of my living room floor, after nudging various books and bags of candy closer together with my foot.  I know — Starburst Jellybeans are a completely inaccurate 18th century snack, but I’m going to need 21st century fuel for the 21st century task of watching TV, taking old-fashioned paper notes (okay, call me old-fashioned), and syncing a second or third screen in order to try and keep up with tweets and Facebook posts in real time. (Phew.)

For all of you who are second-screen savvy, AMC is pushing its “TURN Story Sync” experience here — though I might be stretched in too many directions at once to enjoy Story Sync myself.  If you try it, let me know what you think!

The books and pamphlets seen in this picture run the gamut from excellent to problematic to downright cringeworthy.  Most of them will eventually be reviewed here in the blog, and the best will end up on the Reading List found on the Resources page of this website.  Why do I even bother holding onto “cringeworthy” history books?  Well, to be fair, without training and a lot of practice, it can be hard to differentiate a “bad” history book from a good one — it requires extensive analysis of citations, bibliographies, and lots of other technical stuff.  Consultants for TV shows like “TURN” might grab any old spy-related book off the shelf and, without fully realizing they’re holding an problematic book in their hands, use it as justification for what might end up being a historically inaccurate portrayal.

Anyway, I hope you’re all comfortably situated for tonight’s premiere.  Since it’s a full 90 minutes, it might take a while for me to gather my initial thoughts into a blog post, but I hope to have something substantial by Monday evening.  There will definitely be PLENTY to talk about!  In the meantime, don’t forget to join the conversation on Twitter (@spycurious) or Facebook and take advantage of tonight’s pretty awesome #PledgeDefiance hashtag.  Enjoy the show!

-RS

 

2 thoughts on “Last-minute Premiere Prep

    bobwinowitch@aol.com said:
    April 6, 2014 at 5:24 pm

    Where’s the wine????

    Nice to see Sheldon’s Horse there!!!! John would approve!!!!!

    bw

    […] And, take a look at this: Rachel Smith’s blog dedicated to thinking about the series, called Turn to a Historian! […]

Join the conversation:

